Spider-man 2; Stranger than Fiction; The Illusionist

Two posts in one day? ‘God save us and bless us’, as me mammy would say!

I’ve seen a lot of films recently, I think. I can’t actually remember what half of them were.

I do remember Spider-Man 2 though. Yes, I enjoyed it – it was good. Shut-up! You know who you are! πŸ˜‰

Then there was Stranger Than Fiction, which was very enjoyable although I have to confess that I wasn’t in the mood for it at all. Will Ferrell is very, very funny and plays an excellent straight man, and I think this is the first film I’ve seen with Maggie Gyllenhaal where I haven’t wanted to punch the screen. The premise is simple (I think): a tax man (or whatever his correct title would be), Ferrell, wakes up one morning to find that his life is being ‘narrated’ as if he were part of a novel. As it turns out, he is part of a novel and his life becomes something of a race to make sure that he’s not killed; in both the novel and one assumes, reality. The viewer develops an unexpected affection for the tax man, and it all gets rather emotional and intense towards the end (French and I were a little teary, I’m not ashamed to admit). I suppose this film’s all about personal change and growth, how we adapt ourselves unwittingly and often unselfishly for other people, and how happiness and fulfilment can come in very unpredictable forms. Recommendation: great Sunday afternoon viewing provided you’re not feeling too teary already.

Oh, and there was also The Illusionist starring the wonderful Ed Norton, who never fails to please. Nothing is what it seems, the tagline said, and right it was until half way through when Scottish figured out what was happening and then all was very much as it seemed. The illusionist son of a carpenter, Norton, falls in love with an aristocratic duchess, Biel, and she with him, before they’re forbidden to ever see each other again. They meet by chance later on in life, and rekindle their affair. Yes, love will conquer all or summinck, and a little bit of magic goes a very long way indeed. It’s certainly not Norton’s best work, and there were a few disappointing inconsistencies at the end, but I enjoyed my viewing for the most part. I’d quite like to see Rufus Sewell in a role where he’s not the horrible bad guy (even if he does play one very well) but sure it’s no matter. Recommendation: wait for the DVD. Better still, do a sneaky download.

I’ve still not seen Hot Fuzz. Disgraceful, I know.

10 responses to “Spider-man 2; Stranger than Fiction; The Illusionist

  1. “god bless us and save us says Mrs Davis” was the saying in our house. We went to a preview screening of Stranger than Fiction (gawd bless Guardian freebies) and it’s one of those films that sort of played with my emotions during and after. On one level I was totally captivated and rooting for Will Ferrell, but on another I felt a little flat. It definitely got under my skin though, prompting me to walk for ages through South Kensington being a bit “ooh, what’s life all about then”.

    I really despise Maggie Gyllenhaal as an actress, she has a very punchable face. The great attraction about her eludes me too.

  2. Lola, it didn’t really affect me like that, but like I said, I wasn’t in a very receptive mood that day.

    Blue, I really must. That said, English Housemate saw it twice and loved it, Scottish Housemate saw it once and thought it was mediocre, and Irish Friend saw it and hated it. Hearing the last two reports sort of dulled my interest.

  3. oh and “come come come says the sardines mum, it’s only a tin full of people”

    random sayings my gran used to use…

Leave a Reply

