Geography of a woman (apparently)

This is the fifth or sixth time I’ve received this ‘joke’ email in as many months. I finally started objecting to its senders, although I’ll admit that I let the first few pass.

The misogyny of this just jumps out at you. Add to this racism and ageism and we have the perfect triumvirate of offence. This ticks all the boxes; it’s revolting. I wish people would just think before they send things like this around, and realise that they’re achieving nothing more than the perpetuation of contempt towards women.

So very frustrating.

GEOGRAPHY OF A WOMAN:

Between 18 and 20 a woman is like Africa, half discovered, half wild, naturally beautiful with fertile deltas.

Between 21 and 30 a woman is like America, well-developed and open to trade especially for someone with cash.

Between 31 and 35 she is like India, very hot, relaxed and convinced of her own beauty.

Between 36 and 40 a woman is like France, gently ageing but still a warm and desirable place to visit.

Between 41 and 50 she is like Yugoslavia, lost the war – haunted by past mistakes. Massive reconstruction is now necessary.

Between 51 and 60, she is like Russia, very wide and borders are un-patrolled. The frigid climate keeps people away.

Between 61 and 70, a woman is like Mongolia, with a glorious and all conquering past but alas, no future.

After 70, they become Afghanistan. Almost everyone knows where it is, but no one wants to go there.

GEOGRAPHY OF A MAN:

Between 15 and 70 a man is like Iran – ruled by a dick.

SEND THIS TO A SMART WOMAN WHO NEEDS A LAUGH AND TO MEN YOU THINK CAN HANDLE IT.

If there was mood meter here, it would read: very, very annoyed.

12 responses to “Geography of a woman (apparently)

  1. I’ve seen this one before and I agree: what a load of rubbish. Most of the email “jokes” that come round are offensive and if not that, then extremely irritating. My response is the delete button – I’ve never sent any of these on.

  2. I find that the best tactic to deal with crap like this is to actually go on the attack.

    When you get a silly message with a message along the lines of “Send this to 13 people or your legs will drop off,” I promptly forward it the required number of times to the person who sent it to me in the first place.

    Always seems to work I find. šŸ™‚

  3. That’s an excellent idea for forwarded emails. I treat them like spam normally. But I become incensed when they carry a prejudiced and unacceptable message like this one, joke or not.

  4. Oh I HATE these stupid things. If I find them offensive I send them straight back and say why. I got one once inciting mass lynchings for some criminals about to be released. I ‘replied to all’ and told each and every one of them that they were sad armchair bullies if they passed it on. I ended up having quite a heated debate with a complete stranger about it (she thought lynching released prisoners was a case of ‘the punishment fitting the crime.’ Berk.)

    Postcolonial and feminist criticism have been demonstrating for years how women’s bodies are commodified and territorialised so whoever wrote this is not even being particularly original. part of me would like to seek him out and thank him for bringing critical theory to the masses in such a twee and digestible form.

    Then I would kill him (because it’s so obviously- and sadly – a ‘him’)

  5. It must be a him. I would be very surprised. I was tempted to do a ‘reply all’ when I got this yesterday but I figured it wasn’t their fault that my friend saw fit to send this around.

    And you’re right, it’s not particularly original. I’ll bet the ‘scribe’ is very proud of his efforts, though!

  6. Yes, really. But of course the implication is that (a) if you don’t find it funny, you’re clearly not smart enough; or (b) if you don’t find it funny, you might be smart but you’re just too uptight. Nice disclaimer, huh!

  7. It gets updated regularly to slag off whichever country the forwarder has a disliking for. A few years ago a man was apparently like Iraq rather than Iran and I’ve seen them with the USA instead. Except that in the case of the USA it’s true. šŸ˜‰

    The stuff about women is rubbish (quite obviously) and far too simplistic. Offensive or not it is unworthy of forwarding.

  8. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I wish I could come up with an equally witty, wounding retort to this piece of idiocy but I can’t right now. So “grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr” will have to do.

Leave a Reply

