Simpsons ditched by Venezuelan TV

The Simpsons has been dropped from morning TV in Venezuela after being deemed unsuitable for children – and has been replaced by Baywatch.

The popular US cartoon about the yellow dysfunctional family was branded “inappropriate” and pulled by the country’s television authorities.

Caracas TV station Televen has started showing episodes of the beachside show in the same mid-morning slot.

The objectification of women, and glorification of men, is absolutely suitable for children (and everyone else) of course.

There’s really no need for me to add to the idiocy of this, I’m sure.

21 responses to “Simpsons ditched by Venezuelan TV

  1. Well of course they have…everyone knows that men are better than women but in The Simpsons that message is a little blurred.

    Only on Baywatch are young people given the true message – men are macho and women are for sex.

    I don’t know why you’re calling the decision idiocy…

  2. AH! I get it now, Karl. In The Simpsons, the main male is an idiot and the main female is a strong, intelligent woman. Right! Thankfully, Baywatch can set that straight!

    Yes, yes, Baywatch is much more suitable and appropriate. Thank you for showing me the way, Karl.

  3. My pleasure! You know it makes sense little lady!

    At which point have I gone too far? You will let me know won’t you? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. No, it’s very important that you men set us straight, Karl. The last we need is a world where women think that they are useful for anything other than sex.

    (Of course, I would let you know – but I know that you’re as tongue in cheek about this idiocy as I am!)

  5. “The last we need is a world where women think that they are useful for anything other than sex.”

    Indeed, who would run up and down a beach in a red swim suit if they did?

    I’ll stop now…

  6. You know when I was really young I used to love Baywatch and I promise I didn’t even notice the skimpy swimsuits.

    I wonder what my parents thought, when I would demand not to miss a minute of it. “He’s a bit young to be oggling at those bouncing melons isn’t he?”… “That’s my boy”

  7. Yes, but not as well as men, Murph, I dare say! If it was a man’s place to make tea, of course.

    James, that explains a lot! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess as a kid, you don’t really see the subtext behind it all.

    Perp, indeed!

    Susie, there’s not much else to say. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. I’m sorry, but I think this attitude of ‘women are nothing but sex objects’ is disgusting, even if you are just joking about it. Women are much more than sex objects, they are also required to cook, clean and keep house. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Pingback: Women are for sex « tenderhooligan·

Leave a Reply

