Who cares what you think?

No shocks to hear of this sort of thing from the world’s favourite mass murderer, George W Bush.

From: “Bill Hangley, Jr.”
Subject: His Gift To Us
Date: Mon, 9 Jul 2001 19:05:38 -0400

So when the President was here on July 4, I had the opportunity to shake his hand. I wasn’t sure if that was a good idea or not but I did it anyway, and said to him, “Mr President, I hope you only serve four years. I’m very disappointed in your work so far.”

He kept smiling and shaking my hand but answered, “who cares what you think?” His face stayed photo-op perfect but his eyes gave me a look that said, if we’d been drinking in some frathouse in Texas, he’d’ve happily answered, “let’s take it outside.” A nasty little gleam. But he was (fortunately) constrained by Presidential propriety.

But that was the end of it, until I turned away and started scribbling the quote down in my notepad, so as to remember The Gift forever. When he saw me do that he got excited and craned his neck over the rubberneckers to shout at me, “who are you with? Who are you with?” People started looking so he made a joke: “make sure you get it right.” But he kept at it: “Who do you write for?” I told him I wasn’t “with” anybody and pointed to one of his staff people, who knows me a little, and said, “ask him, he’ll tell you.” Then I split.

Half an hour later, my boss (who had helped organize the event we were at) came up to me and said, “did you really tell the President that he was doing a ‘lousy fucking job’?” No way, I said, I was very polite, I just told him what I thought. Fortunately, he believed me. He wasn’t happy with me, but he believed me.

But anyway, if you ever wondered if the Prez really was kind of a jerk, I’m here to tell you, he is, and I got The Gift to prove it. I’m thinking of making up t-shirts so we can share The Gift with everyone:

“Who cares what you think?”

– President George W. Bush, July 4, 2001

Link (via Graham Linehan).

6 responses to “Who cares what you think?

  1. Firstly I don’t believe a word of it. Secondly if someone came up to me and the very first words they uttered where along the lines of ‘I think you are very bad at your job’ I would probably respond with ‘who cares with what you think?’ to.

    Bush is abhorrent, but that story just seems like cheap propaganda to me.

  2. Nah, I buy it!

    And no one cares if you don’t care what someone else thinks. The President of the most powerful country in the world really should care about what one of his electorate thinks.

Leave a Reply

