Oh…

… President Obama, I do love you. I don’t care that you noticeably paused for applause and greatly overdid the rhetoric in places; that’s how you Americans do things, and we’re all used to it by now.

You’re still my new hero.

Full text if you missed it.

7 responses to “Oh…

  1. I know what you mean. I was almost, almost moved in places. That line about “we will hold out our hand in friendship if they unfurl their fist” must surely not be original but my word he said it with a conviction that I believed despite my absolute political cynicism.

    If he acts half as good a game as he talks it’s going to be great…

  2. On another point, I love this picture

    http://tinyurl.com/7pnfg2

    because whereas it would have been entirely plausible to look at Gordon Brown as a five-year-old and think “He might be Prime Minister one day!” who could have possible conceived, when this picture was taken in the late 60s, that they were recording an image of a future President of the United States.

    It’s mind-blowing and does, if you like, display the wonder of possibility…

  3. Karl, I actually thought that particular line was a little silly/ cheesy but it seems to have the desired effect. It’s been quoted all over the papers today.

    And you’re right about that picture. It truly is an amazing achievement.

Leave a Reply

