In brief: HA! 95% of US adults have sex before marriage

This is music to my ears. See, ever since George Bush and Sarah Palin would not shut their vile mouths about abstinence-only education, I wanted ALL the world to have sex ALL the time with everyone. Or, at least, I wanted everyone in America at it! And it seems I’ve had my wish.

According to a Gallup poll, 38% of people in the U.S. think that pre-marital sex is morally wrong but 95% of people in the U.S. have sex before getting married anyway (if they ever get married, that is). NINETY. FIVE. PERCENT. That’s huge. That is, indeed, just about everyone. They’re all at it! Nice one!

And listen to this: even among people who chose to abstain until at least 20, 81% of them still did the deed by the time they were 44. Surprising? In 2010, probably not. But apparently, these trends have been prevalent since the 1950s. Excellent!

I had a latte with an extra shot the day I read about these polls by way of celebration (well it was 10am). That’s how damned happy I was. Abstinence-only my behind!

4 responses to “In brief: HA! 95% of US adults have sex before marriage

  1. But did you know that the abstinence program actually worked in Uganda for a while? The more they taught about it, the more AIDS decreased. The more that the US went in giving out condoms, the higher AIDS went up. True story. I am really happy to know 12 individuals who did wait for marriage in my little circle of family and friends alone. It is not easy to do, but I am very proud of them. This has nothing to do with the Bush administration and just concern for people in general. Two of the virgins I knew who waited for marriage, waited until they were 30 and 44!

    • This is about social control and using religion (in the main) to socially control people. More often than not the focus of these sorts of social control techniques is on women. It’s in the same vein as slut-shaming and victim-blaming. Use whatever tools are available to tell women what they are and are not allowed to do with their own bodies.

Leave a Reply

