In brief: Iranian sentenced to blinding for acid attack pardoned

An Iranian man who was ordered to be blinded for carrying out an acid attack on a woman has been pardoned by his victim, state television has said.

Ameneh Bahrami had demanded qisas, a rarely used retributive justice under Sharia law, but the report said she had forgone that right at the last minute.

(via BBC News)

I blogged about this case some time ago. I’m still conflicted about how I feel about the initial decision that allowed Bahrami retributive justice for her victimization. One thing is for certain: I have endless respect for Bahrami. She said of her decision:

“I struggled for seven years with this verdict to prove to people that the person who hurls acid should be punished through ‘qisas’, but today I pardoned him because it was my right.

“I did it for my country, since all other countries were looking to see what we would do.”

Leave a Reply

