In brief: baking powder to keep him…

I don’t know where this  board is from but I have but two words I want to say about it.

Fuck.

and

Off.

Ok, more than two. Yeah, we can all laugh (and we do!) but there are too many people who believe in what this board says (i.e., that a woman should be chained to the kitchen sink if she wants to keep her man and make him happy or she’ll lose him and it’ll serve her right) and that is no fucking laughing matter at all. I feel sick when I see messages such as this one and realise that both men and women subscribe to these ridiculous and hateful norms. Let’s not even start on the heterocentricty of it all. It’ll be another couple of centuries, I’d say, before the bible-bashers are able to have a sensible conversation about that.

16 responses to “In brief: baking powder to keep him…

  1. yeah. . .I disagree with the board’s message. I’ve never used face powder or baking powder!

    p.s. i see you took my twitter background!!! That’s okay though.

  2. “It’ll be another couple of centuries, I’d say, before the bible-bashers are able to have a sensible conversation about that.” Hopefully Christians like this will be such a fringe group that the rest of the world can just wonder at their ignorance. I’m not betting on it though.

    • Yes, that’s always the hope. I have heard these sentiments from non-extreme folks too, though. We have a number of Christian neighbours – mostly Church of Ireland and Methodist – at home beside my parents who think that my mother is disgraceful for working when her kids were growing up and that she should have stayed at home. Of course, the fact that she wanted to work and worked hard for her career is doubly offensive to them. And they simply didn’t want to understand that, financially, my mother had to work. They were clearly immensely privileged as well as indoctrinated. The bottom line is that if you (a woman) decide to stay at home, and if that is how you want to organise your home and family, fine, I have no issue with that at all. If you stay at home because you should if you’re a woman and it’s expected because you’re a woman, then I have a problem.

  3. My wife can’t bake for shit, but I can’t say it’s ever crossed my mind that this might be a big problem for our relationship. There’s a Waitrose round the corner and they sell perfectly good cakes.

Leave a Reply

